The Baby Plan: A Novel (Paperback)

The Baby Plan: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


“Smart and funny, The Baby Plan is irresistible! A winner.” -Susan Mallery, #1 New York Times bestselling author

In The Lizzie Bennet Diaries creator Kate Rorick’s first adult fiction novel, we enter the wild, bewildering world of modern pregnancies. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll shake your head as you wonder where everyone’s sanity went...

Meet the mothers…

Nathalie Kneller: Nathalie’s plan: to announce her pregnancy now that she’s finally made it past twelve weeks! But just as she’s about to deliver (so to speak) the big news to her family, her scene-stealing sister barfs all over the Thanksgiving centerpiece. Yup, Lyndi’s pregnant too, swiping the spotlight once more…  

Lyndi Kneller:  Lyndi’s plan: finally get her life together! She’s got a new apartment, new promotion, new boyfriend. What she didn’t count on—a new baby! She can barely afford her rent, much less a state-of-the-art stroller…

Sophia Nunez: Sophia’s plan: Once she gets her daughter Maisey off to college, she’ll finally be able to enjoy life as make-up artist to one of Hollywood’s biggest stars, and girlfriend to one of rock’s hottest musicians. But after 18 years she discovers the stork is once again on its way…

Now these women are about to jump headlong into the world of modern day pregnancy. It’s a world of over the top gender reveal parties (with tacky cakes and fireworks); where every morsel you eat is scrutinized and discussed; where baby names are crowd-sourced and sonograms are Facebook-shared. And where nothing goes as planned...

 

 

About the Author


Kate Rorick is an Emmy Award–winning writer who has worked on a number of television shows, most recently The Librarians on TNT. She was also a writer for the hit web series The Lizzie Bennet Diaries, and authored the two series tie-in novels, The Secret Diary of Lizzie Bennet and The Epic Adventures of Lydia Bennet. In her other life, she writes bestselling historical romance novels under the name Kate Noble. Kate lives in Los Angeles with her family. www.katerorick.com

Praise For…


“Smart and funny, The Baby Plan is irresistible! A winner.”
— Susan Mallery, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“Described with arch humor and a loving attention to detail seldom found in fictional depictions [...] Top-notch women’s fiction.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Heartwarmingly real and hysterically a little too real. I laughed, cringed, and cried -- sometimes all at the same time. This book is emotional perfection.”
— Sarah Watson, executive producer of Parenthood, creator of The Bold Type

“Kate Rorick’s exploration of modern-day parenthood is razor-sharp, hilarious, and acutely true to life. I couldn’t put it down.”
— Beth Harbison, New York Times bestselling author of One Less Problem Without You

“Rorick’s prose is witty, engaging, and delightful, introducing us to characters who are relatable—and whose mistakes we’ve probably made ourselves. Recommended for fans of Marian Keyes and Jennifer Weiner.”
— Booklist

“Kate Rorick, creator of The Lizzie Bennett Diaries, delivers a pointed satire and commentary on the competitive craziness of American baby-making [...] It’s also a story about growing, finding, and potentially losing a family, and discovering you can only cut ties for so long.”
— Brit + Co

“If you’re expecting—or remember those days not-so-fondly—you’ll appreciate Rorick’s funny take on everything from gender reveal parties to sonograms on invitations.”
— Working Mother
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062684417
ISBN-10: 0062684418
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: March 20th, 2018
Pages: 432
Language: English