Between Friends & Lovers: A Novel (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Between Friends & Lovers: A Novel By Shirlene Obuobi Cover Image
$18.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


“An absolute joy to read....Obuobi’s perfect balance of humor and wisdom made this one a true standout.” Emily Henry, #1 NYT bestselling author

Kennedy Ryan meets Carley Fortune in this swoon-worthy story of love and friendship in the age of social media—where what you see might not be all you get. 

To thousands of Instagram followers Josephine Boateng is the dazzling Dr. Jojo, and her opinions on health and self-love matter. Her message: be smart, be significant, and do not put up with foolish men.

Off-camera, Jo’s story is more complicated. She's grappling with depression and the pressures of her career, and her love life is nonexistent thanks to a longtime unrequited crush on her best friend, romcom heartthrob Ezra Adelman. But when Ezra shows up to his thirtieth birthday party with her childhood bully on his arm, Jo realizes enough is enough. It’s time to take her own advice and prioritize herself.

No one is more shocked than Malcolm Waters when his debut novel turns him into a literary darling, the type who gets invited to a swanky penthouse party to discuss film opportunities. Rubbing elbows with the elite of entertainment will be great for his career—except he's terrible with people, and even worse at networking.

Just when Malcolm is ready to throw in the towel, he’s rescued by none other than Dr. Jojo. He’s been following her on social media for years, and she’s even more impressive in real life. And to his bewilderment, the feeling is mutual.

But Jo, Ezra, and Malcolm exist in a world where the line between private and public is as blurred as the line between friendship and love. The question is, can they risk defining those lines to create something real?

About the Author


Shirlene Obuobi is a Ghanaian American cardiologist, cartoonist, and author who grew up in Chicago, Illinois; Hot Springs, Arkansas; and the Woodlands, Texas. She appeared on Good Morning America to promote her debut novel, On Rotation and is a regular contributor to the Washington Post. When she isn’t in the hospital, she can be found drawing comics, writing on her phone, and talking to everyone who will listen about women’s heart health.

Praise For…


“What a beautiful, emotionally generous, goodhearted book! Between Friends & Lovers was an absolute joy to read, with messy, realistic, and deeply lovable characters fumbling their ways through life, making mistakes, and doing the best they can to clean them up. Obuobi’s perfect balance of humor and wisdom made this one a true standout.”
Emily Henry, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“This book is spectacular! It is deft and voicy, sexy and emotionally brilliant. I am honestly obsessed with Shirlene Obuobi’s Between Friends & Lovers and cannot wait to shout about it to every reader I encounter.”
Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author

“Meaty, complex, and steamy. Obuobi takes it all on! Add Between Friends & Lovers to your TBR, this is an author to watch.”
Abby Jimenez, New York Times bestselling author

“Shirlene Obuobi’s sophomore novel is a beautifully written depiction of being vulnerable enough to love deeply and be loved that same way in return. Between Friends & Lovers is sexy and heartfelt, and I still think about Mal and Jo all the time.” 
Riss M. Neilson, author of A Love Like the Sun

"As a fan of Grey’s Anatomy (and Chicago Med!), I couldn’t put down On Rotation, and you won’t be able to, either. Shirlene Obuobi makes you feel as if you’re actually right there with the lovable Angie, and I personally couldn’t get enough." — Meg Cabot

"Smart, funny, and utterly swoonworthy, On Rotation is a layered and deeply compassionate novel of navigating life and love in your twenties. Angie Appiah will be your new best friend."  — Grace D. Li, New York Times bestselling author of Portrait of a Thief

On Rotation is a charming story from start to finish. The ending will melt your heart!” — Tracey Livesay, award-winning author of American Royalty

On Rotation by Shirlene Obuobi is part rom-com, part coming-of-age story—a book so full of life that I badly missed Angie, Obuobi's protagonist, the moment I finished. It's been a rough couple of years for all of us, so scoop up this completely delightful debut for a shot of joy.” — Marie Claire

"Obuobi's debut features a winning cast of characters who alternatively help and hinder Angie, whose first-person narration is warm and relatable...Obuobi ably navigates plot twists and emotional turns while addressing millennial angst and issues facing Black women. A funny, emotional page-turner that will have readers rooting for Angie." — Booklist (starred review) for On Rotation

"Humor and honesty leap off the pages of this addictive read. A binge-worthy romance with a hilarious and relatable heroine that will steal your heart from the first sentence." — Jane Igharo, author of Ties That Tether

“Narrated by a strong lead with an unforgettable voice, On Rotation is an original romance novel bursting with charm, humor and the most loveable characters. I’m besotted with Angie and her posse!” — Lizzie Damilola Blackburn, author of Yinka, Where is Your Huzband?

Fresh, romantic, and hilarious... The story of a Ghanian-American medical student, On Rotation is whip-smart and sharply observed, filled with laugh-out-loud moments while not shying away from heavier issues. With On Rotation, Shirlene Obuobi establishes herself as a writer to watch." — Brenda Janowitz, author of The Liz Taylor Ring

"Author Obuobi, a physician and cartoonist, is in her wheelhouse chronicling the hectic, and sometimes solitary, life of a medical student. The often witty footnotes, frequently describing medical jargon or Ghanaian traditions, add an amusing flair to Angie’s personality, but the novel’s true strength shines in its more serious moments... Guaranteed to make your heart beat faster." — Kirkus Reviews

"This effervescent story is a treat." — Publishers Weekly

“A genuine delight from start to finish, On Rotation will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Talia Hibbert and Ali Hazelwood, and resonate with any reader who enjoys multicultural, multi-faceted, inclusive love stories starring unapologetically strong and complex women.” — BookPage

“Obuobi offers a thoughtful storyline that just about every young person can relate to.” — Popsugar

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063307315
ISBN-10: 0063307316
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: July 30th, 2024
Pages: 368
Language: English