Emmett (Hardcover)

Emmett By L. C. Rosen Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
Los Angeles
1 on hand, as of Jun 19 11:05pm
(Young Adult)

Description


★ “A smoothly written, highly readable—no, make that irresistible romance…There is not a false note in this expert effort, and Emmett is a character to treasure.” –Booklist, starred review

★ "An optimistic read that explores identity and provides models of healthy relationships, sex, and love… a sensitive and affirming adaptation." –Publishers Weekly, starred review

★ "Rosen aptly carries [Jane] Austen’s torch, delivering comparably witty banter and keen social commentary… Delightfully queer and downright swoonworthy." –Kirkus, starred review

A modern-day gay Emma, with the spikey social critique of Austen plus the lush over-the-top romance of Bridgerton.


Emmett Woodhouse, handsome, clever and rich, with a comfortable home and happy disposition seemed to unite some of the best blessings of existence and had lived nearly eighteen years in the world with very little to distress or vex him.
 
Emmett knows he’s blessed. And because of that, he tries to give back: from charity work to letting the often irritating Georgia sit at his table at lunch, he knows it’s important to be nice. And recently, he’s found a new way of giving back: matchmaking. He set up his best friend Taylor with her new boyfriend and it’s gone perfectly. So when his occasional friend-with-benefits Harrison starts saying he wants a boyfriend (something Emmett definitely does NOT want to be), he decides to try and find Harrison the perfect man at Highbury Academy. 
 
Emmett’s childhood friend, Miles, thinks finding a boyfriend for a guy you sleep with is a bad idea. But Miles is straight, and Emmett says this is gay life – your friends, your lovers, your boyfriends – they all come from the same very small pool. That’s why Emmett doesn’t date – to keep things clean. He knows the human brain isn’t done developing until twenty-five, so any relationship he enters into before then would inevitably end in a breakup, in loss. And he’s seen what loss can do. His mother died four years ago and his Dad hasn’t been the same since. 
 
But the lines Emmett tries to draw are more porous than he thinks, and as he tries to find Harrison the perfect match, he learns that gifted as he may be, maybe he has no idea what he’s doing when it comes to love. 
 
Modern and very gay, with a charmingly conceited lead who is convinced he knows it all, and the occasional reference to the classic movie Clueless, Emmett brings you lush romance all while exploring the complexities of queer culture—where your lovers and friends are sometimes the same person, but the person you fall in love with might be a total surprise.

About the Author


Lev Rosen writes books for people of all ages, including the Evander Mills series, which began with the Macavity Award winning Lavender House (Anthony finalist, Lambda finalist, Best Book of the Year from Buzzfeed, Library Journal, Amazon, Bookpage, and others) and continued with The Bell in the Fog, (Publisher’s Weekly Editor’s Choice, Best Book of the year from Amazon, CrimeReads and Autostraddle). His most recent YA novels are Emmett (Best Book of the year from Kirkus and Amazon), Lion’s Legacy (Best Book of the year from Booklist and the New York Public Library) and Camp (Best Book of the year from Forbes, Elle, and The Today Show and others). The third Evander Mills mystery, Rough Pages, will be out in fall 2024. He lives in NYC with his husband and a very small cat. You can find him online at LevACRosen.com and @LevACRosen

Praise For…


★ "Rosen aptly carries [Jane] Austen’s torch, delivering comparably witty banter and keen social commentary… Delightfully queer and downright swoonworthy."—Kirkus, starred

★ “A smoothly written, highly readable—no, make that irresistible romance…There is not a false note in this expert effort, and Emmett is a character to treasure.” —Booklist, starred

★ "An optimistic read that explores identity and provides models of healthy relationships, sex, and love… a sensitive and affirming adaptation."—Publishers Weekly, starred

"A breezy, enjoyable adaptation, perfect for fans of Heartstopper."

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Stylish, bitingly funny and buckets of fun, Emmett is a wickedly sweet romantic romp that's as addictive as your latest Netflix obsession. I’ll never forget this charming, smart and modern take on Emma. And it’s queer, too! L.C. Rosen has truly blessed us with this book.”—Cale Dietrich, co-author of IF THIS GETS OUT

“Charming, romantic and gay as all get-out, Rosen's contemporary reimagining of Jane Austen's classic gives its themes a new life.”—Erin Gough, award-winning author of Amelia Westlake Was Never Here
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316524773
ISBN-10: 0316524778
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: November 7th, 2023
Pages: 272
Language: English