The Apprentice (Mass Market Paperbound)

The Apprentice By Tess Gerritsen Cover Image
Backordered or Out of Print


The bestselling author of "The Surgeon" returns and so does that chilling novel's diabolical villain. Though held behind bars, Warren Hoyt still haunts a helpless city, seeming to bequeath his evil legacy to a student all-too-diligent . . . and all-too-deadly.
It is a boiling hot Boston summer. Adding to the city's woes is a series of shocking crimes, in which wealthy men are made to watch while their wives are brutalized. A sadistic demand that ends in abduction and death.
The pattern suggests one man: serial killer Warren Hoyt, recently removed from the city's streets. Police can only assume an acolyte is at large, a maniac basing his attacks on the twisted medical techniques of the madman he so admires. At least that's what Detective Jane Rizzoli thinks. Forced again to confront the killer who scarred her literally and figuratively she is determined to finally end Hoyt's awful influence . . . even if it means receiving more resistance from her all-male homicide squad.
But Rizzoli isn t counting on the U.S. government's sudden interest. Or on meeting Special Agent Gabriel Dean, who knows more than he will tell. Most of all, she isn t counting on becoming a target herself, once Hoyt is suddenly free, joining his mysterious blood brother in a vicious vendetta. . . .
Filled with superbly created characters and the medical and police procedural details that are her trademark "The Apprentice" is Tess Gerritsen at her brilliant best. Set in a stunning world where evil is easy to learn and hard to end, this is a thriller by a master who could teach other authors a thing or two.

"From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author

"New York Times "bestselling author Tess Gerritsen earned international acclaim for her first novel of suspense, "Harvest." She introduced Detective Jane Rizzoli in "The Surgeon" (2001) and Dr. Maura Isles in "The Apprentice" (2002) and has gone on to write numerous other titles in the celebrated Rizzoli & Isles series, most recently "The Mephisto Club, The Keepsake, Ice Cold, The Silent Girl, Last to Die, "and" Die Again." Her latest novel is the standalone thriller "Playing with Fire." A physician, Tess Gerritsen lives in Maine. "From the Hardcover edition."
Product Details
ISBN: 9780345447869
ISBN-10: 0345447867
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Publication Date: July 29th, 2003
Pages: 366
Language: English
Series: Rizzoli & Isles Novels