The Bump (Paperback)

The Bump By Sidney Karger Cover Image
$18.00
On Our Shelves Now
Brooklyn
4 on hand, as of Jul 16 11:20pm
(LGBTQ- m/m)

Description


"With a fresh mix of Little Miss Sunshine and Planes, Trains and Automobiles, The Bump takes us on a laugh-out-loud and moving adventure. Wyatt and Biz are such vivid, relatable characters to root for as they navigate love and family with tears and hilarity. It's another sweet book from Sid and I didn't want this fun ride to end!"—Molly Shannon, New York Times bestselling author, comedian, and actress

Two men expecting a baby via surrogate go on the road trip of a lifetime in this hilarious and poignant novel by Sidney Karger, author of Best Men.

Wyatt Wallace is a practical, super organized director of TV commercials. Biz Petterelli is a child-actor-turned-magazine-writer who thrives on spontaneity. Though polar opposites, they are fully committed to their relationship and their life in Brooklyn with their dog, Matilda. They’re also about to have a baby together.

And they’re freaking out.

They’ve both dreamed of becoming parents, but now that it’s happening, they’re doubting everything. Their baby is due in a few weeks and instead of flying to California just before the birth as planned, Biz has a better idea. They could use one last hurrah, along with some serious “us-time” to mend the issues they’ve been having lately—before they get tied down by fatherhood and its impending responsibilities. So the daddies-to-be load up their 1992 Volkswagen Cabriolet and embark on an epic cross-country babymoon. They attempt to recharge at the beach in Provincetown, stumble through their impromptu baby shower in Chicago, and endure a Star Wars-themed wedding in Colorado before heading west for the baby.
 
But when they take several unexpected detours, old wounds are reopened and secrets spill out that could change their relationship for better or for worse, forcing the couple to reexamine the meaning of family while building their own. After all, what’s a road trip without a few bumps along the way?

About the Author


Sidney Karger is an award-winning screenwriter for film and television. His debut novel Best Men was published in 2023 and featured on Good Morning America, The Today Show and Watch What Happens Live with Andy Cohen. He currently lives in New York City with his partner and their Australian Labradoodle, Zelda.

Praise For…


"Sid Karger has done it again, with this beautifully-written and timely story that resonates in a universal way. The Bump is a smart, deeply funny and heartwarming novel that perfectly captures modern parenthood, family and love. What a joy to read.”—Anderson Cooper, #1 New York Times bestselling author and journalist

"With a fresh mix of Little Miss Sunshine and Planes, Trains and Automobiles, The Bump takes us on a laugh-out-loud and moving adventure. Wyatt and Biz are such vivid, relatable characters to root for as they navigate love and family with tears and hilarity. It's another sweet book from Sid and I didn't want this fun ride to end!"—Molly Shannon, New York Times bestselling author, comedian, and actress

"The Bump is a journey. And like the best road trip novels it's an exploration of destinations beyond its characters' itinerary. Karger gives us a tender and humorous look at the evolving nature of gay relationships in an era of marriage equality and family. Fans of Best Men will welcome this follow-up."—New York Times bestselling author Steven Rowley

“Filled with laughter and love, the hysterical Sidney Karger does it again, giving us Wyatt and Biz on their bumpy cross country adventure to start the family they have always wanted. A gem! Perfect for fans of Steven Rowley!”—Jane L. Rosen, author of Nine Women, One Dress

"Karger makes it easy to empathize with his heroes, bringing impressive emotional depth to their relationship... Readers will root for Biz and Wyatt to make it work."—Publishers Weekly

"Karger’s second novel is a heartwarming, comedic journey of two partners finding each other again...weaving a road trip of a lifetime with hints of nostalgia, hope, and acceptance."—Kirkus Reviews

"The Bump is a road trip comedy that’s sure to put a smile on your face. Sidney Karger’s second rom-com balances emotional and heartfelt moments with laugh-out-loud ones, and the ending is worth the journey.”—Geek Girl Authority
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593439500
ISBN-10: 0593439503
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: May 21st, 2024
Pages: 368
Language: English