Date with Malice (The Dales Detective Series #2) (Paperback)

Date with Malice (The Dales Detective Series #2) By Julia Chapman Cover Image
NOT ON OUR SHELVES- available for order, usually ships in 1-5 days


Suspicious goings-on at a retirement home lead to an intriguing investigation in Date with Malice, the second cozy crime novel in Julia Chapman's Dales Detective series. Perfect for fans of Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club and M.C. Beaton.

'A Yorkshire Agatha Raisin' - Dalesman

It’s dark in the Dales this winter . . .

When Mrs Shepherd arrives at the Dales Detective Agency, quite convinced that someone is trying to kill her, Samson O’Brien dismisses her fears as the ramblings of a confused elderly lady. But after a series of disturbing incidents at Fellside Court retirement home, he begins to wonder if there is something to her claims after all . . .

With Christmas around the corner, Samson is thrown into a complex investigation. One that will require him to regain the trust of the Dales community. Faced with no choice, he enlists the help of a local – the tempestuous Delilah Metcalfe.

Against the backdrop of a Yorkshire winter, Samson and Delilah must work together once again if they are to uncover the malevolence threatening the elderly residents of Bruncliffe. Could the danger be perilously close to home?

Filled with wit, warmth and a cast of charming characters, continue the crime capers with Date with Mystery.

Praise for The Dales Detective series:

'Bags of Yorkshire charm and wit' Northern Echo

'A classic whodunit set in the spectacular landscape of the Yorkshire Dales' Cath Staincliffe

'Full of dry wit and clever plotting' Countryside

'Chapman delivers on every level' Lancashire Evening Post

'Enlivened with numerous subplots, the story moves at a cracking pace' Daily Mail

About the Author

Julia Chapman is the pseudonym of Julia Stagg, theauthor of the Fogas Chronicles set in the French Pyrenees. She is also the author of the Dales Detective series which follows the adventures of Samson O’Brien and Delilah Metcalfe as they solve cases in the Yorkshire Dales.

Born with a wanderlust that keeps her moving, Julia has followed her restless feet to Japan, Australia, the USA and France. She spent the majority of that time as a teacher of English as a Foreign Language but also dabbled in bookselling, pawnbroking, waitressing and was once ‘checkout chick of the month’ at a supermarket in South Australia. She also ran an auberge in the French Pyrenees for six years with her husband.

Having spent many years wandering, she is now glad to call the Yorkshire Dales home. Its distinctive landscape and way of life provide the setting for her latest set of novels, the Dales Detective series.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781035002382
ISBN-10: 1035002388
Publisher: Pan
Publication Date: August 1st, 2023
Pages: 416
Language: English
Series: The Dales Detective Series