Anything for You: A Novel (Valerie Hart #3) (Hardcover)

Anything for You: A Novel (Valerie Hart #3) Cover Image
$27.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Critically acclaimed author Saul Black returns with a heart-racing thriller in which a brutal murder forces one woman to reckon with her own past—and her future.

On a hot summer night, a watchful neighbor locks eyes with an intruder and unwittingly alerts the police to a vicious crime scene next door: a lavish master bedroom where a man lies dead. Next to him, his wife is bleeding out onto the hardwood floor, clinging to life.

The victim, Adam Grant, was a well-known San Francisco prosecutor—a man whose connection to Homicide detective Valerie Hart brings her face-to-face with a life she’s long since left behind. Adam’s career made him an easy target, and forensic evidence points towards an ex-con he put behind bars years ago. But while Adam’s wife and daughter grapple with their tragic loss, Valerie uncovers devastating clues that point in a more ominous direction. Lurking in the shadows of the Grants’ pristine life is a mysterious blonde who holds the key to a very different—and much darker—story.

As Valerie struggles to forge a new path for herself, the investigation forces her to confront the question: can we ever really leave our pasts behind?

Sophisticated and stunning, Anything for You is an unforgettable thriller that will grip readers long after turning the last page.

About the Author


Saul Black is a pseudonym for Glen Duncan, the author of By Blood We Live, I, Lucifer, and many other books. He was chosen by both Arena and The Times Literary Supplement (London) as one of Britain's best young novelists. He lives in London.

Praise For…


Praise for Anything For You:

“A terrific thriller made more luminous by its refreshingly human detective.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Skilled story crafting…will appeal to fans of Carol O’Connell and Chelsea Cain.”Booklist

“[A] glossy game of mirrors …readers [will stay] up late into the night to discover the tale’s final twists.”Publishers Weekly

"A first rate suspense novel." —Peter Blauner, bestselling author of Sunrise Highway

Praise for Saul Black:

"Shockingly good writing." —The New York Times Book Review

"State of the art." —The Washington Post

"Compelling...Black utilizes the psychological edge of his characters to elevate the story." —Associated Press

“Unbelievably good...this one has it all.” —Lee Child

"This novel breaks brilliant." —Jeffery Deaver

The Killing Lessons is a dark, twisted, and deeply compelling read. Saul Black perfectly inhabits each of his characters, even the most deranged among them, and weaves a breathless thriller that is as beautiful as it is terrifying.” —Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of Crazy Love You

"Black writes tension-release like a rock-ballad composer...a high-grade thriller." —Kirkus Reviews (starred)

"A taut, smart thriller guaranteed to keep readers on the edge of their seats." —Library Journal (starred)

"A master class in suspense." —Bookpage

“Puts a fresh spin on the familiar...Black explores themes of love and trust, and doesn’t shy away from Valerie’s complex emotional world. Sharp plotting and snappy dialogue propel the action to an exciting conclusion.” —Publishers Weekly

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250199911
ISBN-10: 1250199913
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: November 5th, 2019
Pages: 352
Series: Valerie Hart