Lady of the English (Paperback)

Lady of the English By Elizabeth Chadwick Cover Image
$20.99
Backordered or Out of Print

Description


"Everyone who has raved about Elizabeth Chadwick as an author of historical novels is right."—Devourer of Books

From New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick comes a gripping, never-before-told, medieval battle of the sexes that sheds light on one of medieval royalty's most fascinating women—Queen Matilda.

1135, England: Matilda, daughter of Henry I, knows that there are those who will not accept her as England's queen when her father dies. But the men who support her rival, and cousin, Stephen do not know the iron will that drives her. She will win her inheritance against all odds, and despite all men.

Adeliza, Henry's widowed queen and Matilda's stepmother, is now married to a warrior who is fighting to keep Matilda off the throne. But Adeliza knows that Britain's crown belongs to a woman this time.

Both women will stand and fight for what they know is right for England's royalty. But for Matilda, pride comes before a fall. And for Adeliza, even the deepest love is no proof against fate.

Written with great historical accuracy, Lady of the English is a captivating novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Susanna Kearsley, Hilary Mantel, and Diana Gabaldon will be spellbound by this vividly detailed look into medieval history.

Praise for Lady of the English:

"Lady of the English is a riveting historical fiction novel with thrilling drama and characters that fairly leap off of the page."—Laura's Reviews

"A detailed and very readable medieval era novel full of political intrigue and fascinating depictions of the people surrounding the throne of England."—Historical-Fiction.com

"The story is vividly described with a depth of historical detail that is rarely matched by other novelists in the genre."—Historical Novel Review Blog

About the Author


“A star back in Britain, Elizabeth Chadwick is finally getting the attention she deserves here,”—USA Today. Chadwick is the bestselling author of over 20 historical novels, including The Greatest Knight, The Scarlet Lion, A Place Beyond Courage, Lords of the White Castle, Shadows and Strongholds, The Winter Mantle, and The Falcons of Montabard, four of which have been shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists' Awards.

Praise For…


"Breathing life into historical personages is hallmark Chadwick... a feast for the senses." 4 ½ Stars, Top Pick of the Month " — RT Book Reviews

"I can’t say enough good things about Elizabeth Chadwick and her ability to recreate the past and turn it into reality. " — Book Drunkard

"I have always enjoyed Elizabeth Chadwick’s books since I opened my first one. Her characters live and breathe and leap out
of the pages in much the same way as newspapers recount the lives of the people of today: we know them, we see them on our television screens and cannot doubt their existence, and so it is with Elizabeth Chadwick’s characters. Even the totally fictitious ones who provide a link to events are as real as the historical characters they support. The author’s previous novel, To Defy a King, won the 2011 RNA Historical Novel prize, and deservedly so. Her newest book is also highly recommended." — Historical Novels Review

"Lady of the English is recommended for anyone who wants to open a window to the horrors and glories of England’s royal past." — The Misadventures of Moppet

"The Lady of the English is an interesting story about this little-known slice of history and the woman who spent so much of her life in truth preparing another and those around her for the role of ruling the formidable Kingdom of England. Fascinating Middle Ages historical fiction!" — Crystal Book Reviews

"I have to say that Chadwick excels in the details. Every moment in the world felt real, as if you were breathing in the same air as the characters. You get it all – sights, sounds, tastes, smells." — The Maiden’s Court

"Just when I think Elizabeth Chadwick cannot top herself, she does it again. Lady of the English is a riveting historical fiction novel with thrilling drama and characters that fairly leap off of the page." — Laura’s Reviews

"Renowned historical novelist Chadwick tells this battle-of-the-sexes story from a woman’s point of view, channeling Matilda and the wannabe regent’s stepmother as storytellers." — New York Post

"Lady of the English is another great novel from Elizabeth Chadwick, one fans of historical are sure to enjoy." — Confessions of an Avid Reader

"And I think that's where this book really shines. The way the characters interact with each other is just fascinating and their relationships are so complex." — Book Lust

"The bond between these women is the thread that weaves balanced elements of history and romance into a story that reflects its setting and illuminates the continuing struggle of women to be accepted as powerful and feminine." — ForeWord

"This book will be best enjoyed by those who favor an intelligent, strong, and determined woman at the center of the story." — Booklist

"As with all of Elizabeth’s novels, the story is vividly described with a depth of historical detail that is rarely matched by other novelists in the genre. She brings to life the story of a queen who was contrary, vitriolic, and verbally blunt." — Historical Novel Review Blog

"Chadwick knows how to spin the weaves of history's cloth, embroidered with captivating details, that seem to mirror the very image of the era. " — The Burton Review

"As always Elizabeth Chadwick offers a detailed and very readable medieval era novel full of political intrigue and fascinating depictions of the people surrounding the throne of England." — Historical-Fiction.com

"This book is already residing on my keeper shelf and I highly recommend it. Plan on being drawn into 12th century England and staying there a while with some magnetic characters that you won't want to leave." — One Book Shy of a Full Shelf

"A wonderful reprieve from all the Tudor novels that are saturating the market, I urge you to get this book for insight into this fascinating woman’s life." — History and Women

" fascinating book with different insights to a difficult time in England's history" — Broken Teepee

"Ardent readers of historical fiction will enjoy yet another masterpiece by Elizabeth Chadwick." — Library of Clean Reads

"I love how Elizabeth Chadwick manages to interweave historical details into her fiction. I always know I’m going to get a well-researched, entertaining story, as I did with this novel." — A Girl Walks into a Bookstore

"Lady of the English was another great bout of storytelling. I learned about two really fantastic women I didn't know much about. Highly recommended" — Readin’ and Dreamin’

"Lady of the English is an excellent read, a novel that will appeal to both historical fiction fans and those who are looking for an entertaining read." — Mrs. Q Book Addict

"No one does medieval historical fiction quite like Elizabeth Chadwick, and her latest novel, Lady of the English is just one more example of her enormous talent for bringing the past to life!" — Passages to the Past

"I recommend this one to readers of historical fiction and those who love stories about women's relationships. " — Debbie’s Book Bag

"My only complaint about the story?

It ended.

I have a new favorite historical fiction author and it is Elizabeth Chadwick." — Violet’s Muse

"Truly another interesting story from Chadwick. She has the magic and can bring history to life. After finishing this one I sit down and wait for her next book. I can't wait to read whatever she writes about next. So this make this book a historical fiction book that I recommend to everyone." — Books For Life
Product Details
ISBN: 9781402250927
ISBN-10: 1402250924
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Publication Date: September 1st, 2011
Pages: 544
Language: English