Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe (A Novel with Recipes) (Paperback)

Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe (A Novel with Recipes) By Jenny Colgan Cover Image
$15.99
NOT ON OUR SHELVES- available for order, usually ships in 1-5 days

Description


"[A] heartwarming story a la Bridget Jones' Diary with a twist...Colgan folds in a colorful cast of characters and whips up an easy, sweet read."—USA Today

Issy Randall can bake. No, Issy can create stunning, mouthwateringly divine cakes. After a childhood spent in her beloved Grampa Joe's bakery, Issy has undoubtedly inherited his talent. She's much better at baking than she is at filing, so when she's laid off from her desk job and loses her boyfriend, Issy decides to open her own little café. But she soon learns that her piece-of-cake recipe for a fresh start might be a little more complicated than throwing some sugar and butter together.

A smart, quirky contemporary confection of recipes and friendship, Meet Me at the Cupcake Café is about how life might not always taste like you expect, but there's always room for dessert!

Also by Jenny Colgan:

The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris

Sweetshop of Dreams

What reviewers are saying about Meet Me At The Cupcake Café:

"A hilarious, fast-paced fantasy about starting over, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella. Absolutely adorable."—Booklist

"A funny novel about friendship, food and love... "—Kirkus

"A delightful story... warm, funny and well-written."—Fresh Fiction

"Absolutely adorable... charming... an endearing, delightful read"—Silver's Reviews

About the Author


A former columnist for The Guardian, Jenny Colgan contributes regularly to national BBC radio and is the author of more than eleven bestselling novels, including her recent international bestsellers The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris published in 2014 and Welcome To Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop of Dreams, which won the 2013 Romantic Novel of the Year award from the Romantic Novelists Association. She is married with three children and lives in London and France.

Praise For…


"[A] heartwarming story a la Bridget Jones’ Diary with a twist… Colgan folds in a colorful cast of characters and whips up an easy, sweet read. " — USA Today

"A funny novel about friendship, food and love... Readers with an interest in baking will love this book. " — Kirkus Reviews

"If you love watching Cupcake Wars, you’ll likely enjoy this book. " — RT Book Reviews

"A delightful story... warm, funny and well-written." — Fresh Fiction

"Absolutely adorable... charming... an endearing, delightful read that will raise your spirits and definitely have you making something sugary. " — Silver’s Reviews

"A very cute story... Great recipes in the book too." — Cocktails and Books

"An interesting, witty plot with recipes for various sweet treats scattered throughout its pages." — Long and Short Reviews

"A warm and funny story that I could not put stop reading..." — A Novel Review

"One of my favourite things about Colgan’s writing is the details that make the places and people come alive." — Novel Escapes

"A sweet book that will make you want cupcakes." — Book Girl of Mur-y-Castell

"A sweet story of love and new beginnings. Colgan does an excellent job of taking standard chick-lit tropes and making them fun again. " — Shelf Awareness

"Hilarious and witty." — Rather Be Reading

"I loved the optimism that’s found between the pages of Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe... entertaining throughout... an enjoyable read. " — Dreys Library

"Warm, humorous, bighearted, and celebrating the variety that is life. " — The Romance Reviews

"A delightful book full of wonderful characters and a great story line about a woman making it on her own. " — Laura’s Reviews

"This is a great read for fans of Women's Fiction who don't mind taking life by the hand...as long as the other can have a cupcake of choice and good company. " — Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers

"A wonderful story with characters you will come to love... sure to please any foodie. " — Peeking Between the Readers

"What could be better than a wonderful story interspersed with mouth watering recipes. Meet Me at the Cupcake Café is a winner on both these points." — Books and Quilts

"Mixed into this sweet story is a little romance, a lot of laughs, a few tears, and cupcakes! " — Book of Secrets Blog

"A warm, sweet tale. It is like a cupcake for the soul." — All About Romance

"The best part of Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe is that it is interspersed with excellent recipes, written in a light tone, matched to life events for the damsel in distress." — Reading with Tea

"Engaging, funny, and touching. Colgan’s style is breezy and witty. " — Chicago Book Review
Product Details
ISBN: 9781402281808
ISBN-10: 1402281803
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Publication Date: July 2nd, 2013
Pages: 432
Language: English
Series: A Novel with Recipes