Murder at the Merton Library (A Wrexford & Sloane Mystery #7) (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Murder at the Merton Library (A Wrexford & Sloane Mystery #7) By Andrea Penrose Cover Image
$17.95
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


A perplexing murder in a renowned Oxford University library and a suspicious fire at a famous inventor’s London laboratory set Wrexford and Lady Charlotte on two separate investigations in this masterfully plotted, atmospheric Regency-set mystery from USA Today bestselling author Andrea Penrose.

“[Penrose] mixes well thought out mysteries, early forensic science, great details of the era and a slow burning attraction creating a compulsive read.” —The New York Public Library

Responding to an urgent plea from a troubled family friend, the Earl of Wrexford journeys to Oxford only to find the reclusive university librarian has been murdered and a rare manuscript has gone missing. The only clue is that someone overheard an argument in which Wrexford’s name was mentioned.

At the same time, Charlotte—working under her pen name, A. J. Quill—must determine whether a laboratory fire was arson and if it’s connected to the race between competing consortiums to build a new type of ship—one that can cross the ocean powered by steam rather than sails—with the potential to revolutionize military power and world commerce. That the race involves new innovations in finance and entrepreneurship only adds to the high stakes—especially as their good friend Kit Sheffield may be an investor in one of the competitors.

As they delve deeper into the baffling clues, Wrexford and Charlotte begin to realize that things are not what they seem. An evil conspiracy is lurking in the shadows and threatens all they hold dear—unless they can tie the loose threads together before it’s too late . . .

About the Author


Andrea Penrose is the acclaimed author of Regency-era historical fiction, including the USA Today bestselling Wrexford & Sloane mystery series, as well as Regency romances written under the names Cara Elliott and Andrea Pickens. Published internationally in ten languages, she is a three-time RITA Award-finalist and the recipient of numerous writing awards, including two Daphne Du Maurier Awards for Historical Mystery and two Gold Leaf Awards. A graduate of Yale University with a B.A. in Art and an M.F.A. in Graphic Design, Andrea fell in love with Regency England after reading Pride and Prejudice, and has maintained a fascination with the era's swirling silks and radical new ideas throughout her writing career. She lives in Connecticut and blogs with a community of historical fiction authors at WordWenches.com. She also can be found at AndreaPenrose.com and on Instagram @AndreaPenroseBooks.

Praise For…


Praise for the Wrexford & Sloane Mystery Series

“[Penrose] rewards diligent readers with a pulse-pounding climax, and her deep dive into early 18th-century technology is a treat. In the crowded field of Regency mysteries, this series stands out.” –Publishers Weekly on Murder at the Merton Library
 
“An excellent mystery bolstered by fascinating information about a life-changing invention.” –Kirkus Reviews on Murder at the Merton Library

“Penrose builds her much-complicated plot with a Dickensian cast of characters…The plot moves quickly with unexpected complications that keep the reader intrigued. The dialogue is lively; the author has a discriminating sense of timing. The climax is worthy of the complications, and the ending is felicitous.” –Historical Novel Society on Murder at the Merton Library

“As in every Penrose novel, the solution to these linked crimes is generated through the loyalty and insight of intelligent and caring friends—which is why her fiction is, as Lord Wrexford’s friends would say, ‘infernally satisfying.’” New York Journal of Books on Murder at the Merton Library

“I love this series for its exploration of Regency science…Highly recommend this series for fans of Darcie Wilde, Tasha Alexander, and Dianne Freeman.” –Robin Agnew, Aunt Agatha’s Bookshop (Ann Arbor, MI) on Murder at the Merton Library

“Fascinating and well-researched historic events… a colorful depiction of Regency England.” —Publishers Weekly on Murder at the Serpentine Bridge

“A charming, action-packed mix of historical mystery and Regency romance.” —Kirkus Reviews on Murder at the Serpentine Bridge

“Another ingenious historical mystery from Andrea Penrose.” –Criminal Element on Murder at the Serpentine Bridge

“Readers may be familiar with Penrose’s historical mystery series, but even if this is your first time meeting satirical cartoonist Charlotte Sloane and brilliant scientist Lord Wrexford, you’ll be quickly absorbed in their world.” —Historical Novel Society on Murder at the Serpentine Bridge

“Swashbuckling…Historical fans will have fun.” —Publishers Weekly on Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens

“For relaxed enjoyment and the diversion of adept time travel, an Andrea Penrose historical mystery is hard to beat!” —The New York Journal of Books on Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens

“A bit of Regency-period romance and history enhance a convoluted mystery with plenty of derring-do.” —Kirkus Reviews on Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens

“Andrea Penrose is skillful at incorporating the scientific discoveries of the day into her plots.” —Criminal Element on Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens

“A nice mix of science, setting, adventure story, and romance.  Wrexford and Charlotte are a great pair.” —Aunt Agatha’s Bookstore on Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens

“Another delight of the series.” —Historical Novel Society on Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens

“Scientific discoveries combine with a complex mystery to provide an action-packed brainteaser.” —Kirkus Reviews on Murder at Queen’s Landing

“The author captures the Regency era’s complexities in vivid settings, contrasting milieus, and a wealth of fascinating details...This thoughtful blend of derring-do and intellectual discussion should win Penrose new fans.” —Publishers Weekly on Murder at Queen’s Landing

“A high-paced adventure with a light feathering of attraction between the protagonists. After all, it’s hard to take time for courting when you’re protecting the people you care for, in the face of a powerful criminal mastermind.” —The New York Journal of Books on Murder at Queen’s Landing

“An intricately plotted mystery set in Regency England. Its complex story line and authentic historical details bring the early days of the Industrial Revolution vividly to life. Bound to fascinate readers of C.S. Harris and even fans of Victorian mysteries.” —Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW on Murder at Half Moon Gate

“Penrose does a good job linking the mystery to the period’s scientific and social changes. Those seeking an unusually rich look at Regency life will be satisfied.” —Publishers Weekly on Murder at Kensington Palace

“Penrose is excellent at conveying the details of early 19th-century science and experiments with electricity. This was the era of Frankenstein, after all. The relationship between Wrexford and Charlotte is further developed in this book, and I am looking forward to seeing where it leads next.” —Historical Novel Society on Murder at Kensington Palace

“Penrose deftly intertwines the politics of navigating Regency-era society, scientific progress, and the deepening relationship between the protagonists. Series fans will enjoy revisiting the lively cast of characters, while historical fiction readers will be satisfied by the immersive, richly detailed mystery.” —Library Journal on Murder at Kensington Palace

“Murder at Kensington Palace is a challenging story, replete with scientific discoveries and challenges of the time, but it’s grounded in loyalty, persistence, and courage.” —Criminal Element

“Science and romance meet in a high-stakes cat-and-mouse game.”—Kirkus Reviews on Murder at Kensington Palace

"The relationship and banter between the two stars of this series is incredible. Readers will look forward to seeing Charlotte and Wrex again (and hopefully very soon)." —Suspense Magazine on Murder at Half Moon Gate

"Thoroughly enjoyable...with sharp, engaging characters, rich period detail, and a compellingly twisty plot, Andrea Penrose delivers a winner...fans of C.S. Harris and Kate Ross will be rooting for Charlotte Sloane and the Earl of Wrexford. Devilishly good fun!” —Deanna RaybournNew York Times bestselling author on Murder on Black Swan Lane

“Fans of C.S. Harris take note! In this new, Regency-set mystery series, the artist Charlotte Sloane and the scientist Earl of Wrexford are the perfect mismatched pair of sleuths. A riveting ride through Regency London, from the slums of St. Giles, to the mansions of Mayfair.” —Lauren WilligNew York Times bestselling author on Murder on Black Swan Lane

“A wonderfully engaging Regency mystery, with a most determined heroine and an engaging pair of street urchins at her side. Historical chemistry meets alchemy, and only a nonchalant nobleman can help solve the murder. A delight of a book.” —Joanna Bourne, award-winning author on Murder on Black Swan Lane

“A female 19th-Century cartoonist as an amateur sleuth is a welcome innovation.” —Publishers Weekly on Murder on Black Swan Lane

“Penrose deftly combines a Regency romance with a tricky mystery that delves into social unrest and the darker side of this storied period.” —Kirkus Reviews on Murder at Half Moon Gate

“Penrose reveals intriguing new aspects of her protagonists’ characters and relationship in a story linked to the era’s technological and social changes.” —Publishers Weekly on Murder at Half Moon Gate

“A Regency lady with a hidden past joins forces with an irritable aristocrat to solve a dastardly series of crimes…[Charlotte’s] burgeoning awareness of her love for Wrexford is just one of many unpredictable complications in the search for a clever and ruthless killer. Science and romance meet in a high-stakes cat-and-mouse game.” —Kirkus Reviews

"Compelling...an intricately plotted mystery set in Regency England. Its complex story line and authentic historical details bring the early days of the Industrial Revolution vividly to life. Bound to fascinate readers of C.S. Harris and even fans of Victorian mysteries." —Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW for Murder at Half Moon Gate

“[Penrose] mixes well thought out mysteries, early forensic science, great details of the era and a slow burning attraction creating a compulsive read.” —The New York Public Library
Product Details
ISBN: 9781496739940
ISBN-10: 1496739949
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: July 23rd, 2024
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: A Wrexford & Sloane Mystery