Someone Else's Bucket List: A Moving and Unforgettable Novel of Love and Loss (Paperback)

Someone Else's Bucket List: A Moving and Unforgettable Novel of Love and Loss By Amy T. Matthews Cover Image
$16.95
NOT ON OUR SHELVES- available for order, usually ships in 1-5 days

Description


“A poignant look at how the bonds of sisterhood can shape our lives.” –Namrata Patel, author of The Candid Life of Meena Dave

Readers of Josie Silver and Rebecca Serle will adore this bingeworthy, bittersweet P.S. I Love You for the digital age. After the untimely death of her outgoing, hugely successful influencer sister, an introverted woman takes on the terrifying challenge of completing her sister’s bucket list as the world watches, in a bid to save her family—and others—from the crippling medical debt her cancer battle left behind.


My dying wish is for you to finish my bucket list. I refuse to die without knowing this list will be completed. And I refuse to die without knowing my family will be okay . . .

Jodie Boyd is a shy and anxious twenty-something, completely unsure what to do with her life. Her older sister, Bree, is an adventurous, globe-trotting, hugely successful Instagram influencer with more than a million followers. She’s the most alive person Jodie knows—up until Bree’s unfathomable, untimely death from Leukemia. The Boyds are devastated, not to mention overwhelmed with medical debt. But Bree thought of everything—and soon, Jodie is shocked by a new post on her sister’s Instagram feed.

The first of many Bree recorded in secret, the post foretells a jaw-dropping challenge for Jodie: to complete Bree’s very public bucket list. From “Fly over Antarctica,” to “Perform a walk-on cameo in a Broadway musical,” if Jodie does it—and keeps all Bree’s followers—a corporate sponsor will pay off the staggering medical debt. If she gains followers, the Boyds won’t be the only ones to benefit. It’s crazy. It’s terrifying. It’s impossible, immoral even, to refuse. So, despite the whole world watching, Jodie plunges in, never imagining that in death, her sister will teach her how to live, and that the last item on the list—“Fall in love”—may just prove to be the easiest.

“A moving story. This life-affirming tale reminds us that happiness is possible if we find the courage to reach for it.” —Jamie Beck, Wall Street Journal bestselling author

“I loved Someone Else's Bucket List. It begins by breaking your heart then takes you by surprise by becoming uplifting and utterly galvanizing. Best of all, though, it's a stirring celebration of the power of sisterhood!” —Matt Cain, author of The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle

About the Author


Amy T Matthews is a novelist and academic who also writes under the names Amy Barry and Tess LaSue. A former Chair and long serving board member of Writers SA, she is currently a Senior Lecturer and Discipline Lead in Creative Writing at Flinders University and an Associate Member of the JM Coetzee Centre for Creative Practice. She lives in Australia and can be found online at AmyTMatthews.com.

Praise For…


Praise for SOMEONE ELSE'S BUCKET LIST by Amy T. Matthews

“Fans of Josie Silver and Cecelia Ahern will be taken by this story of joy after grief.” Publishers Weekly

Someone Else’s Bucket List takes a poignant look at how the bonds of sisterhood can shape our lives.” Namrata Patel, author of The Candid Life of Meena Dave

“I loved Someone Else's Bucket List. It begins by breaking your heart then takes you by surprise by becoming uplifting and utterly galvanizing. Best of all, though, it's a stirring celebration of the power of sisterhood!” —Matt Cain, author of The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle

“Somebody Else’s Bucket List is a moving story about Jodie and Bree, two devoted sisters who each take extraordinary measures to help the other. Author Amy Matthews’s keen portrayal of grief and loss keeps the reader rooting for Jodie as she pushes out of her comfort zone to fulfill Bree’s dying wish. This life-affirming tale reminds us that happiness is possible if we find the courage to reach for it.” —Jamie Beck, Wall Street Journal bestselling author
Product Details
ISBN: 9781496742087
ISBN-10: 1496742087
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: May 23rd, 2023
Pages: 400
Language: English