Best, First, and Last (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Best, First, and Last By Amy T. Matthews Cover Image
$17.95
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Three generations of women set out to heal their broken hearts on a grand adventure of hiking the Incan Trail to Machu Picchu in this stirring, spirited, and ultimately joyful journey of love and self discovery for fans of Rebecca Serle and Josie Silver…

When twenty-five-year-old Heather Russo breaks up with her boyfriend—again—she can’t figure out if she’s to blame or he is. Either way, she’s miserable, and working at home via Zoom meetings is only making it worse. What’s more, all the women in her family are struggling. Mom Sandy is convinced she’s wasted her life and is nursing a giant grudge against Heather’s father, whom she’s now divorcing. Grandmother Bonnie is reeling with the grief of losing her third husband, and is carrying his urn everywhere she goes, even the supermarket. The bottom has fallen out of their lives so abruptly, the trio is clinging to any handhold they can—and slowly but surely losing their grip . . .

Inspired by a friend’s adventurous grandson, and determined not to spend her 70th birthday wallowing, Bonnie is ready to take extreme measures. Even if it means dragging her beloved girls along by the hair, they’re going to hike the Incan Trail to Machu Picchu! Of course, their emotional baggage gets packed with their lightweight jackets, but as they make the trek, the women also talk, sharing stories and secrets that have been festering for far too long. With every arduous step toward the famed summit, each woman sheds some of the past and its pain, and opens up to the extraordinary possibilities of the present—and a future that just might include a new happily ever after.

About the Author


Amy T Matthews is a novelist and academic who also writes under the names Amy Barry and Tess LaSue. A former Chair and long serving board member of Writers SA, she is currently a Senior Lecturer and Discipline Lead in Creative Writing at Flinders University and an Associate Member of the JM Coetzee Centre for Creative Practice. She lives in Australia and can be found online at AmyTMatthews.com.

Praise For…


Praise for BEST, FIRST, AND LAST

"Best, First, and Last took me on a JOURNEY. The lush setting is the perfect backdrop for this multi-generational story of the many ways love - romantic and familial - can shape our lives. At turns both funny and heart-wrenching, this is another gem from one of my must read authors." —Robin Lefler, author of Reasonable Adults

“Best, First, and Last
by Amy T. Matthews is equal parts witty and wise. The family members at the center of this warmhearted novel might have their doubts about vacationing together, but I loved being along for the ride.” —Laura Hankin, author of The Daydreams and A Special Place for Women

Praise for SOMEONE ELSE'S BUCKET LIST by Amy T. Matthews

“Fans of Josie Silver and Cecelia Ahern will be taken by this story of joy after grief.”Publishers Weekly

Someone Else’s Bucket List takes a poignant look at how the bonds of sisterhood can shape our lives.” —Namrata Patel, author of The Candid Life of Meena Dave

“I loved Someone Else's Bucket List. It begins by breaking your heart then takes you by surprise by becoming uplifting and utterly galvanizing. Best of all, though, it's a stirring celebration of the power of sisterhood!” —Matt Cain, author of The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle

Somebody Else’s Bucket List is a moving story about Jodie and Bree, two devoted sisters who each take extraordinary measures to help the other. Author Amy Matthews’s keen portrayal of grief and loss keeps the reader rooting for Jodie as she pushes out of her comfort zone to fulfill Bree’s dying wish. This life-affirming tale reminds us that happiness is possible if we find the courage to reach for it.” —Jamie Beck, Wall Street Journal bestselling author
Product Details
ISBN: 9781496742100
ISBN-10: 1496742109
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: June 25th, 2024
Pages: 336
Language: English