The Clarity: A Novel (Paperback)

The Clarity: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


For fans of Black Mirror and True Detective, a visceral, high-concept thriller about a psychologist who must protect the life of an eleven-year-old girl whose ability to remember past lives makes them both targets of a ruthless assassin.

Dr. Matilda Deacon is a psychologist researching how memories are made and stored when she meets a strange eleven-year-old girl named Ashanique. The girl claims to harbor the memories of the last soldier killed in World War I and Matilda is skeptical. But when Ashanique starts talking about being chased by the Night Doctors—a term also used by an unstable patient who was later found dead—Matilda can’t deny that the girl might be telling the truth.

Matilda soon learns that Ashanique and her mother have been on the run their whole lives from a monstrous assassin named Rade. Rade is seeking a certain component ingrained solely in memories, and has left a bloody trail throughout the world. Matilda realizes that Ashanique is in unimaginable danger and that her unique ability comes with a deadly price.

“A taut, riveting thriller, a perfect balance of scientific speculation and storytelling” (James Rollins, New York Times bestselling author), The Clarity is a compelling take on the possibilities of reincarnation and life after death.

About the Author


Keith Thomas worked as a lead clinical researcher at the University of Colorado Denver School of Medicine and National Jewish Health before writing for film and television. He has collaborated with James Patterson on a screenplay and a novel. His work has also appeared in Geek and McSweeney’s.

Praise For…


“A taut, riveting thriller, a perfect balance of scientific speculation and storytelling.”
— James Rollins, New York Times bestselling author of The Seventh Plague

“[A] strong debut . . . Thomas maintains the believability of his tightly coiled plot throughout.”
— Publishers Weekly

"Chilling speculative thriller. Tautly plotted and well researched, this book is a riveting take on the possibility of afterlife and reincarnation."—Book Riot
Product Details
ISBN: 9781501156946
ISBN-10: 1501156942
Publisher: Atria/Leopoldo & Co.
Publication Date: March 26th, 2019
Pages: 304
Language: English