Broadcast Blues (Clare Carlson Mystery #6) (Hardcover)

Broadcast Blues (Clare Carlson Mystery #6) By R. G. Belsky Cover Image
$27.95
NOT ON OUR SHELVES- available for order, usually ships in 1-5 days

Description


Wendy Kyle took secrets to her grave—now, Clare Carlson is digging them up

New York City has no shortage of crime, making for a busy schedule for TV newswoman Clare Carlson. But not all crimes are created equal, and when an explosive planted in a car detonates and kills a woman, Clare knows it’ll be a huge story for her.

But it’s not only about the story—Clare also wants justice for the victim, Wendy Kyle. Wendy had sparked controversy as an NYPD officer, ultimately getting kicked off the force after making sexual harassment allegations and getting into a physical altercation with her boss. Then, she started a private investigations business, catering to women who suspected their husbands of cheating. Undoubtedly, Wendy had angered many people with her work, so the list of her suspected murderers is seemingly endless.

Despite the daunting investigation, Clare dives in headfirst. As she digs deeper, she attracts the attention of many rich and powerful people who will stop at nothing to keep her from breaking the truth about the death of Wendy Kyle—and exposing their personal secrets that Wendy took to her grave.

Perfect for fans of Sue Grafton and J. D. Robb

While all of the novels in the Clare Carlson Mystery Series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence is:

Yesterday’s News
Below the Fold
The Last Scoop
Beyond the Headlines
It’s News to Me
Broadcast Blues

About the Author


R. G. Belsky is an author of crime fiction and a journalist in New York City. He has a degree in journalism from Ohio University and has had an illustrious career in both print and television news. He is the former Vice President at NBC Local Digital News, Managing Editor of the NY Daily News, News Editor of Star Magazine, and Metropolitan Editor of the New York Post. Most recently, he was a Managing Editor of NBC News. Belsky’s crime novels reflect his extensive media background in newspapers, magazines, and TV/digital news. Broadcast Blues is the sixth novel in his Clare Carlson series, following Yesterday’s News, Below the Fold, The Last Scoop, Beyond the Headlines, and It's News to Me. Belsky resides in New York City.

Praise For…


Broadcast Blues is a page-turning, meticulously plotted crime novel enriched by a terrific New York sense of place, Dick Belsky’s wicked sense of humor, and his insider’s view of the Machiavellian world that is broadcast news.” —Jonathan Kellerman, New York Times best-selling author

“Satisfying suspects, plausible motives, and some truly surprising plot twists make [Broadcast Blues] a winner. Readers will clamor for the next installment.” —Publishers Weekly

Praise for The Clare Carlson Mystery Series

“[It’s News to Me is] witty, clever and engaging. Clare Carlson’s irreverent comments and dogged reporter’s instincts make for a propulsive ride as she races from the chaos of a newsroom’s inner sanctum to the dangers of a murder victim’s deepest secrets. Once you start, you won’t put it down.” —Lisa Gardner, New York Times best-selling author

Below the Fold takes readers on a whiplash ride through a New York murder case. The television news investigation provides a fascinating lens for the story. Heroine Clare Carlson is formidable, human, and thoroughly authentic. R. G. Belsky knows his stuff.” —Meg Gardiner, Edgar Award-winning author

“In today's world of fake news and alternate facts, R. G. Belsky reminds us why we need reporters like Clare Carlson more than ever before. She is what we want all our journalists to be—honest, objective, and relentless in her pursuit of the truth.” —Lee Goldberg, New York Times best-selling author

“Belsky’s Yesterday’s News elicits all parents’ deepest fear—the disappearance of a child. But this intelligent, gripping novel is about so much more: ambition, secrets, and, most shocking of all, truth. Read it.” —Reed Farrel Coleman, New York Times best-selling author

“What a terrific book! A complex and compelling nonstop cat-and-mouse chase—and you're never quite sure which one's the mouse. Even the savviest of readers will be gasping in awe at Belsky's impressive story-telling skills.” —Hank Phillippi Ryan, Agatha, Anthony and Mary Higgins Clark Award-winning author

“Belsky's behind-the-headlines thriller Yesterday’s News is about truth, lies—and how much of each we're willing to live with.” —Lori Rader-Day, Mary Higgins Clark Award-winning author

Below the Fold is a terrific mystery, written with a veteran journalist's eye. The pacing and plotting are everything you want, but it's R. G. Belsky's insider knowledge that adds a wonderful layer to this story of media and murder.” —Michael Koryta, New York Times best-selling author

The Last Scoop is another surefire success for author R. G. Belsky as well as for Oceanview Publishing which has been putting out one top-notch page-turner after another.” —New York Journal of Books

“Belsky’s not just funny; he has a pitch-perfect ear for dialogue, including writing snappy New York repartee not seen since Susan Isaacson.” —BookTrib

"Satisfying suspects, plausible motives, and some truly surprising plot twists make [Broadcast Blues] a winner. Readers will clamor for the next installment.” —Publishers Weekly

 
Product Details
ISBN: 9781608095315
ISBN-10: 1608095312
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2024
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: Clare Carlson Mystery