Seams Deadly (A Measure Twice Sewing Mystery #1) (Hardcover)

Seams Deadly (A Measure Twice Sewing Mystery #1) By Maggie Bailey Cover Image
$29.99
NOT ON OUR SHELVES- available for order, usually ships in 1-5 days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the A Measure Twice Sewing Mystery series.

Description


When sewist Lydia Barnes finds a dead body soon after moving to a new town, she will need more than shear luck to find the killer, in this novel perfect for fans of Molly MacRae and Anna Gerard.

Lydia Barnes is excited for a fresh start when she moves to the quaint mountain town of Peridot, Georgia. Her friend, Fran, offers her a job at the Measure Twice fabric store and even sets her up on a date with the handsome Brandon Ivey, who also happens to be Lydia’s new next-door neighbor. Finally, things are looking up. But after a disaster first date that ends with a fist bump instead of a kiss, Lydia doesn’t think her night can get any worse. She’s soon proven wrong when she later stumbles upon Brandon’s dead body.

Considered the prime suspect by the police, Lydia calls on her friends to help her hunt for the truth and prove her innocence. But when another body is soon found inside the Measure Twice store, Lydia knows that the killer must be close by, and that this town has more than its fair share of secrets. Who would want to frame the newest addition to Peridot for these terrible murders—and why?

Lydia may discover that while sewing might have a pattern, killing rarely does. Will she be able to stitch together the clues and clear her own name before the killer strikes again?

About the Author


Maggie Bailey, an enthusiastic sewist and maker, is a graduate of Stanford, Oxford, Brown, and Sewanee Universities, Maggie Bailey has previously published two volumes of poetry. She lives in Atlanta with her husband, two young children, her dogs, and a growing fabric stash she can’t help but add to on a regular basis.

Praise For…


Praise for Seams Deadly:
“Details of fabric and sewing frame the story of a woman who has lost everything and is trying to find her place in the world.”
Booklist

“With a special appeal to readers with an interest in craft/hobby themed cozy mysteries.”
Midwest Book Review

“Enjoyable, and fun to read.”
Red Carpet Crash

Seams Deadly is packed with all the right ingredients for this delightful new series: a lovable, talented heroine who sews her own clothes (and rescues a memorable ‘velociraptor’ cat); a charming small town filled with quirky characters; and a mystery that will keep you guessing.”
—Sally Goldenbaum, USA Today best selling author of the Seaside Knitters Society Mystery series

“Readers will love Lydia, a woman who can sew her own clothes while stitching together clues for murder. Add a charming southern town with a few quirky residents and you have a cozy mystery to die for!”
—Emmie Caldwell, national bestselling author of The Craft Fair Knitters Mysteries

“Small-town Southern charm with a wonderfully authentic sleuth to love and root for.”
—Melissa Bourbon, national bestselling author of the Magical Dressmaking Mysteries

“A binge worthy whodunnit stitched to perfection!”
—Holly Quinn, author of The Handcrafted Mysteries 

“Recently divorced Lydia Barnes is making a new start in a small town, working at a quilting shop by day and sewing her own clothing by night. After an awkward first date with her neighbor ends in a fist bump, she brings him some brownies, only to find him dead at his desk, fabric shears sticking out of his neck. With police suspicion on her, it's up to Lydia to find the culprit amongst her new neighbors before she's the next victim. What a fun, cozy read, and a promising start to a fabric arts-themed series! The story is peppered with names of indie pattern companies and patterns they produce, as well as descriptions of sewing techniques and supplies, which made me extremely happy as a fellow sewist. By the end of this book, I was ready to start solving murders, but only after I finished sewing a murder-solving dress.”  
—Rachel Copeland, Boswell Book Company, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Product Details
ISBN: 9781639104697
ISBN-10: 1639104690
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: September 5th, 2023
Pages: 272
Language: English
Series: A Measure Twice Sewing Mystery