The Engagement Party: A Novel (Hardcover)

The Engagement Party: A Novel By Finley Turner Cover Image
$29.99
NOT ON OUR SHELVES- available for order, usually ships in 1-5 days

Description


A lavish engagement party turns deadly and the bride-to-be is the primary suspect in this heart-stopping thriller exploring the dark underbelly of the uber wealthy and just how far people will go for revenge, in the vein of Sarah Pinborough and Ruth Ware.

Kass Baptiste is newly engaged to her fiancé Murray Sedgemont after a whirlwind romance. Before they even get to share the news, an invitation arrives via messenger - to an engagement party hosted by Murray’s parents. When Kass and Murray arrive at the Sedgemont Estate, she is astonished to learn that Murray’s family is one of the most powerful families in North Carolina. As Kass’s future mother-in-law, Beatrice, whips herself into a frenzy over the perfect party for the state’s elite, Kass begins to receive anonymous threatening social media messages.

 On the night of the event, as champagne is popped and the celebrations begin, a body is found in the lavish home. All eyes are on Kass, the interloper amongst the rich and powerful guests. Over the course of the party , Kass’s dark past unexpectedly becomes intertwined with the murder, and in order to prove her innocence, she must finally come to terms with her secrets.

 As Murray’s family secrets are revealed, Kass must prove herself innocent while evading the anonymous threats that haunt her every move.

About the Author


Finley Turner is a debut thriller writer. Initially convinced she wanted to be a professor, she got her master's in religious studies at Wake Forest University, focusing on new religious movements, cults, and religious violence. During her program, she applied for a student position in the university library and quickly realized she would rather be an academic librarian than be at the front of a classroom teaching. She worked as an archivist at Wake Forest University for six years after getting her masters in library and information science from UNC Greensboro. She now writes and parents full time. Finley lives in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, with her family.

Praise For…


Praise for The Engagement Party:
“A solid, psychological thriller, with twists and turns to keep the reader engaged.”
Red Carpet Crash

“A juicy thriller with gothic vibes, unforgettable characters, and a twisty plot line that can’t be missed! Turner’s debut is a knockout, and perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware. A must-read of the season.”
—Carissa Ann Lynch, USA Today bestselling author of The Bachelorette Party

“A fancy party, a snobby family, and mysterious past all come together in a tangled web of lies, secrets and betrayal! The Engagement Party has it all in unexpected places and in all the best ways. A twisty, turny delight.” 
—Mina Hardy, author of We Knew All Along and After All I’ve Done

“The engagement party from hell and a family seeped in secrets—I tore through this twisty tale of the ultra-rich, which kept me guessing until the shocking end!” 
—Aggie Blum Thompson, author of I Don't Forgive You

“Finley Turner invites readers to an eerie and atmospheric 'engagement party' where twists and surprises abound. You can't turn the pages fast enough to find out who's bringing more secrets into this marriage: the groom or the bride.” 
—Liz Alterman, author of The Perfect Neighborhood

“I devoured this juicy romp into the lives of the horribly rich on their worst behavior. While a classic whodunnit, The Engagement Party kept me on my toes with its fresh and modern twists. Readers will race through this debut, which is darkly gripping and just plain fun!”
—Nicole Hackett, author of The Perfect Ones

The Engagement Party has the glamour and ever-lurking twists reminiscent of Knives Out, coupled with a chilling, page-turning pace that made it impossible to put down. Turner expertly weaves the past and present to create an unexpected locked room mystery where every character is glittering in diamonds and dark secrets.”
—Amanda Pellegrino, author of The Social Climber
Product Details
ISBN: 9781639105977
ISBN-10: 1639105972
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: November 7th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English