What We Buried (Paperback)

What We Buried By Robert Rotenberg Cover Image
$17.99
NOT ON OUR SHELVES- available for order, usually ships in 1-5 days

Description


A Toronto homicide detective is attacked at his doorstep when his investigation into possible links between the Nazi occupation of Italy and the murder of his brother decades later gets too close to the truth—in the new crime thriller from bestselling author Robert Rotenberg. Perfect for fans of Scott Turow and David Baldacci.

It’s been years since Daniel Kennicott’s brother, Michael, was shot and killed the night before he was about to depart for Gubbio, Italy. The case, never solved, has haunted Daniel ever since. Long suspecting the killing was tied to Michael’s planned trip but overwhelmed with grief, Daniel has put off going there—until now, the tenth anniversary of the murder.

As he’s about to leave, Daniel learns that his two mentors, detectives Ari Greene and Nora Bering, have been more involved in the investigation of Michael’s murder than he ever knew. And they’re concerned about Daniel’s safety. But why? Is Daniel risking his life—and those of others—by trying to uncover the truth?

When Daniel arrives in the bucolic Italian hill town, he learns the past has not been put to rest. Residents are still haunted by the brutal Nazi occupation, the brave acts of the local freedom fighters, and the swift savagery of German retribution.

And as Daniel delves into his family’s deadly connection to Gubbio, Ari Greene searches for a killer closer to home.

Inspired by the true story of the Forty Martyrs in Gubbio, Italy, during World War II, What We Buried is an extraordinary crime novel about troubled legacies, revenge, and the unbreakable bonds of family.

About the Author


Robert Rotenberg is the author of several bestselling novels, including Old City HallThe Guilty PleaStray BulletsStrangleholdHeart of the City, and Downfall. He is a criminal lawyer in Toronto with his firm Rotenberg Shidlowski Jesin. He is also a television screenwriter and a writing teacher. Visit him at RobertRotenberg.com or follow him on Twitter @RobertRotenberg.

Praise For…


“For the first time, author Robert Rotenberg leaves his native Toronto for an ancient Italian town with a truly terrifying past to dig into three unsolved murders. The suspense starts on page one of What We Buried and never lets up.”
BONNIE FULLER, award-winning journalist and former editor in chief of Glamour, Marie Claire, Cosmopolitan, HollywoodLife, USWeekly, and Flare

“With unflinching empathy, [Rotenberg] masterfully uncoils the strands of two mysteries as his detective heroes unearth devastating secrets that span continents and generations.”
BARBARA KYLE, author of The Deadly Trade

“This gripping crime story in the Ari Greene series takes readers from Toronto to the quaint cafes and landscapes of Italy. All the elements that have made Rotenberg’s previous novels so successful are here: an intricate plot, captivating characters, excellent dialogue, and descriptions that perfectly capture the scene…[A] compelling tale of generational tragedy.”
SCOTT COREY, author of Elephants in Paris

“Well worth the wait. What We Buried takes us on a deep and complicated journey, solving puzzles that have mystified Rotenberg’s characters and readers throughout his engaging series…Sharp and masterfully written, this is storytelling at its best.”
DAVID ISRAELSON, journalist and author

“Unpunished war crimes lead to new murders generations later in Robert Rotenberg’s well-written and cinematic new novel.”
— HELLA ROTTENBERG, journalist and co-author of The Cigar Factory of Isay Rottenberg

“A treat for longtime readers of Rotenberg’s mystery series, and a wonderful entry point for newcomers, What We Buried explores the intergenerational trauma of war that lies beneath the surface of modern life. A layered and propulsive thriller.”
KATE HILTON, author of Better Luck Next Time

“At the heart of this fast-paced thriller, there is a dark mystery that has festered for seventy years - a mystery that links unsolved murders in today’s world with a Nazi atrocity in a small town in wartime Italy. It is left to Daniel Kennicott to find the connection before it destroys him.”
ANNA PORTER, bestselling author of Gull Island

“Rotenberg has earned a name for himself with legal thrillers that deftly ramp up the suspense. In the same vein, What We Buried  keeps us guessing but this time against a backdrop that is darker and more personal. A guaranteed great read.” 
D.J. McINTOSH, bestselling author of The Witch of Babylon

“A rare treat. A thriller with depth and resonance that reaches back into the shadowy past to excavate a Nazi atrocity and expose a contemporary crime.”
— DANIEL KALLA, bestselling author Fit to Die and The Darkness in the Light

What We Buried is a gripping story with fascinating historical facts that had me speed reading to the end. Can’t wait for the next one.”
— NANCY LAM, author of The Loyal Daughter 
Product Details
ISBN: 9781982179649
ISBN-10: 1982179643
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: February 27th, 2024
Pages: 320
Language: English