The Storm of Steel (Hardcover)

The Storm of Steel By Ernst Jünger Cover Image
$24.99
NOT ON OUR SHELVES- available for order, usually ships in 1-5 days

Description



One of the great war memoirs, a worldwide bestseller published shortly after the end of World War I, Storm of Steel is a memoir of astonishing power, savagery, and ashen lyricism. It illuminates not only the horrors but also the fascination of total war, as seen through the eyes of an ordinary German soldier.


Young, tough, patriotic, but also disturbingly self-aware, Ernst J nger exulted in the Great War, which he saw not just as a great national conflict but also-more importantly-as a unique personal struggle. Leading raiding parties, defending trenches against murderous British incursions, simply enduring as shells tore his comrades apart, J nger keeps testing himself, braced for the death that will mark his failure. His account is ripe for rediscovery upon the centennial of the Battle of the Somme-a major set piece in Storm of Steel-and a bracing read for fans of Redeployment and American Sniper.

Product Details
ISBN: 9789962972266
ISBN-10: 9962972264
Publisher: Rt Books
Publication Date: November 16th, 2022
Pages: 334
Language: English